Perseus Karlstrom and Beki Smith wins in Adelaide the first race of IAAF RW Challenge

Adelaide (AUS) – The first race of the IAAF Racewalking challenge is decided only in the final both for the men’s and women’s 20Km events; the competitions were also valid to assign the title of champion of Oceania and Australian.

The men’s 20Km race is won by Perseus Karlstrom (SWE) who in 1h20’30” precedes Marius Liukas (LTU) in the last meters and only one second ; third Yerko Cortes (CHI) in 1h21’31”, fourth and champion of the Oceania, Quentin Rew (NZL) in 1h21’55”. One of the favorites of the eve was Dane Bird-Smith (AUS), but suffered from a flu and ranked only fifth with time of 1h22’18”, winning the Australian title anyway. The other big Evan Dunfee (CAN), had to abandon the race due to a muscular problem.

In the women’s contest a script similar to the last Camberra race, with another victory for Beki Smith (AUS) in 1h31’23”, that distance only in the final stages the two compatriot Jemima Montag (1h31’26” and great PB) and Claire Tallent (1h31”29”); Beki Smith also won the Australian and Oceania titles.
All results >

In light of these results in optical Commonwealth Games (to will be held in Australia in the city of Gold Coast from 4 to 15 April 2018), the Australian men’s team will almost certainly be composed of Dane Bird-Smith, Michael Hoskings and Rhydian Cowley (Jared Tallent is injured); difficult decision instead to compose the women’s team, with Beki Smith and Jemima Montag sure of the place, and a probable run-off between Claire Tallent favored on Regan Lamble. As for the teams of New Zealand, Quentin Rew and Alana Barber have already been officially selected.

CATEGORIES: Events & races | News
TAGS: , , , ,